DoonyaKids

Untitled design (7)

DoonyaKIDS Program

The DoonyaKids Bollywood programming uses a mindful approach to dance with the goal to associate dance, fitness, and movement with joy.

Students will learn basic South Asian-inspired routines and movements with an emphasis on developing rhythm, body coordination and control, and understanding storytelling through dance.

While a full choreography will be taught throughout the entire session, classes will also incorporate freestyle and creative movement and dance games, breathing, and yoga.

This eight week program will culminate in a virtual recital where each participant will perform as a group.

We are currently offering classes for the following age ranges:

  • Doonya Neela: 3-5 years old (in person, Houston) - 12:30pm ET / 11:30am CT
  • Doonya Hara: 5-7 years old (in person, Houston) - 1:15pm ET / 12:15pm CT
  • Doonya Peela: 8-11 years old (in person, Houston) - 2:00pm ET / 1:00pm CT
  •  Doonya Laal: 12-16 years old (in person, Houston) - 3:00pm ET / 2:00pm CT
  • Doonya Gulaabi: 9-13 years old (virtual) - 5:00pm ET / 4:00pm CT

About the Instructor

Teaching this program is Doonya program founder, Kajal Desai, who has been teaching kids consistently for the last 15+ years and has created a unique program in the South Asian dance education and cultural learning spaces.

Kajal's class is known to be inspiring, motivating and nurturing for students. She has the unique ability to connect with kids and build an incredible foundation in dance. In fact, some of Kajal's former students have graduated to teach Doonya's signature workout and choregraphy classes.

Class Structure

The Doonya Kids curriculum is created based on mindfulness principles with the focus on the joy of moving in the moment. All classes will follow this same basic format though there may be small changes from week to week:

  • Namaste
  • Breathing and/or mindful grounding exercise
  • Stretch to awaken the body (e.g., Surya Namaskar)
  • Dance warm-up and basic step review
  • Choreography
  • *Younger Kids* - Dance game (freeze dance, pass the move, follow the leader, etc)
  • Cool Down, final breathing, and Namaste

Pricing

Total: $144 16% off with promo code KidsWinter2022 until 12/29

DoonyaKids is offered as a series only.

Schedule

Important Dates:

  • 1/9 - 3/6: Classes
  • 1/23: No Class

Location

6th Position Dance Studio
10371 Stella Link Rd, Houston, TX 77025

Scroll to Top